Changes No One Told You about – New MOT Vehicle Class Definitions

The Drivers and Vehicles Standards Agency, or DVSA, has introduced a list of changes in their MOT tests on May 20th, 2018. These changes mainly focus on increasing the safety of a vehicle, applying stricter regulations on car emission, lights, the condition of the chassis, etc.

However, the new rules also brought significant changes in a vehicle’s class definition. Your car will not fall in any one of the three categories – constructed for the carriage of passengers, built for the transport of goods and trailers and semi-trailers. Whenever you take your car for an MOT in Ancaster or anywhere else in the UK, it will be classified according to the new rules, and corresponding parameters will be applied for its testing.

As a car owner, it is essential that you know and understand the class your vehicle may come under. It will give you a clear idea about the rules you should follow and how you can prepare your car to clear the test at one go.

Let’s take a look at the different vehicle classes that define your car during an MOT test.

Category M –

Vehicles that are constructed to carry passengers are designated as Category M automobiles. There are specific sub-categories under this class.

  • Category M1 – M1 represents cars that have no more than eight seats (including the driver’s seat) in them. Family cars, passenger vehicles, SUVs, etc. mainly fall under this category.

  • Category M2 – Vehicles that have more than eight seats, including the driver’s seat, comes under Category M2. The maximum weight of such vehicles should not exceed 5 tonnes. Small busses, light transport vehicles are designated M2 cars.

  • Category M3 – Vehicles with more than eight seats and exceeding 5 tonnes of maximum weight falls under M3 Category. The vehicles that are categorised as M3 are busses, full-sized transport vans, etc.

Category N –

Vehicles that are purpose-built to carry goods and heavier weights are classified as Category N. Similar to Category M; it too is further divided into classes.

  • Category N1 – Load carrying vehicles with a maximum mass not exceeding 3.5 tonnes are categorised as N1. It primarily includes vans and smaller carrier vehicles operating within mainly city limits.

  • Category N2 – Category N2 vehicles can carry weights from 3.5 to 12 tonnes. Light trucks, vans, etc. fall under Category N2.

  • Category N3 – Vehicles that have a carrying capacity exceeding 12 tonnes fall under Category N3. These can range from large trucks to heavy field or mining equipment.

Category O –

Towed trailers fall under Category O. Its subcategories include –

  • Category O1 – Trailers that can carry a maximum of 0.75 tonnes.

  • Category O2 – O2 class trailers can carry weights between 0.75 to 3.5 tonnes.

  • Category O3 – It consists of trailers capable of carrying 3.5 to 10 tonnes of weight.

  • Category O3 – Trailers that can carry more than 10 tonnes falls under this category.

The rules for an MOT test somewhat differs between all these classes. However, you won’t have to worry about remembering and adhering to the different regulations if you live in or around Sleaford. Take your car to Roberts Tyres for an MOT, and they will ensure it meets all the specific rules. They are one of the largest car service garages in the neighbourhood, providing essential repair services like repair of transmission, engine, and brakes in Kelby and surrounding areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.