Know Your Way around an MOT with this Definitive Q&A Session

When MOT test was introduced back in 1960, the automobile industry was just catching up speed. Cars were not as universal as they are today but the number of accidents was surprisingly high. It was because of the lack of mechanical sophistication in vehicles as well as the lack of safety awareness among commuters.

MOT was introduced to bring down the number of these accidents by ensuring that the cars are safe for congested, countryside or fast-paced traffic. Initially, it only tested the brakes, steering and lights. As the years passed by, new components added to the checklist.

The new MOT regulations can be a bit confusing for owners to figure out. Some of the most common confusions faced by these new test takers are-

  1. Where can one take the test?

There are thousands of service stations certified by the DVSA to carry out these tests. Most of them are service stations where you can both take the test and do the necessary repairs. There are a few Council centres as well, which conduct the test but have nothing to do with repairing.

  1. How much does it cost?

The limit set by the government is £54.85. However, most service centres charge considerably lesser. The exact amount depends on the make and model of your vehicle.

  1. How long does it take?

On an average, an MOT in Harrogate takes around 45-60 minutes for Class IV vehicles. However, if any repairs need to be done, it will take longer. The duration depends on the severity of the malfunction.

Auto garages are legally obliged not to let you drive away with a ‘Dangerous’ fault. So, if there’s a fault in that category, you will have to wait till they repair it.

  1. Which parts are checked in the test?

Almost all the components of the car are checked during the test. The most notable omissions from the list are the engine, clutch and gearbox.

Two examples of checkpoints are as below.

  • Tyres

  1. The tread depth must be over 1.6 mm.

  2. There shouldn’t be any cracks or bulges.

  3. It should be properly inflated.

  • Driver’s view of the road

  1. There shouldn’t be any crack on the driver’s side of the windshield.

  2. On the other side, the maximum permissible length of a crack is 40 mm.

  3. There shouldn’t be any cracks in any of the mirrors.

  1. What are the most common failure points?

According to statistics, only five components are responsible for more than 50% of all MOT failures. They are-

  1. Lights

  2. Suspension

  3. Tyres

  4. Brakes

  5. Driver’s view

Of these five, you can check the lights, driver’s view of the road and the condition of tyres at home. Ensure that your tyres in Harrogate meet the required test standards. Refer to professional expertise from reputed service stations like HG Motors. It is a service station that can help you keep all spare components in proper shape.

  1. What happens if one fails?

The reason for the failure will be mentioned in the certificate. You have to get those fixed as soon as possible. Otherwise, you won’t be allowed to drive on British roads.

Most MOT failures are due to minor reasons that can be easily avoided. Have a regular maintenance schedule to pass the test in a jiffy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *